C++ Programming for Lich...where to start?

Hi,
I’m new to the Lich, but not to DSP using C++.
(I’ve written VST plugins and worked on Arduino code, and been programming since forever, so may be a bit of a learning curve)

My aim is to write some stuff for the Lich using C++.
First planned project is to create a “is the Lich working?” patch to troubleshoot all the hardware, and to end up with a documented example to share which will show how to access the hardware from C++ code.

Any help would be much appreciated

I’m on Windows.
I found https://github.com/pingdynasty/OwlProgram (which doesn’t include Lich in it’s list of supported devices) Looks like the right place to be though.

There I find:
“On Windows, you’ll need a MAKE utility [7]. You’ll also need to open compile.mk and point TOOLROOT to your gcc installation directory, using a path string without spaces (such as using 8.3 filenames).”

That leads to a download for MinGW, and the first question.Which packages do I need to install?
(I’ve guessed MSYS for MinGW, Basic MinGW and the C++ option)

I’ve downloaded the code from https://github.com/pingdynasty/OwlProgram#ref7

I’ve seen the recommendation to edit compile.mk (which I’ve found in the downloaded code) .
…and presumably I need to edit the line

TOOLROOT ?= Tools/gcc-arm-none-eabi-9-2020-q2-update/bin/

so I think # need removing as it means ‘comment’
…but what is “?=” (guess, check for existence and warn if not there)

so following instructions without knowing better that’s
TOOLROOT ?=C:\MinGW
…which looks kind of wrong

so am I right so far, and what do I do next?

I’m thinking compile the CppTest example, but I’m stuck for the next step.

That would be anything that runs OWL firmware. What you’re looking at is the software side that is loaded dynamically and runs your patch code.