Faust on Wizard again, "process = _" not passing audio through, any ideas?

Hi, I’m attempting to get a Faust “hello world” patch up and running. I’m using the code here process = _,_; from (https://github.com/pingdynasty/OpenWareLab/tree/master/Faust/Tutorial/02_DualVCA#audio-input-and-output) and uploading it and compiling it using the rebeltech online compiler but I get no audio output (or perhaps more accurately I think I get no audio input).

• The physical device works because existing compiled pd patches on the device can take audio input, process and produce audio output
  • Any Faust patches I’ve written that don’t use audio input work fine using the rebeltech online compiler, like process = os.osc(440.0),os.osc(440.0)
  • Some patches I’ve never used before like this one work https://www.rebeltech.org/patch-library/patch/Dual_Stereo_MIxer, although the majority of audio-in-and-out patches don’t work for reasons unknown. That’s always been the case though, I’ve never had much luck with getting other people’s patches working on my device.

I’m on firmware version 20.7. I did attempt an upgrade to Wizard 21.0.0 as there was no mention of unsafe breaking changes, but it caused my device to bug out (device was mainly unresponsive and LED would flicker occasionally). Thankfully I was able to flash it again with 20.7 but I’m quite frankly a little scared to try this again.

I’m quite confused at this point. Any ideas why audio input might not work with Faust? What else can I try?

FAUST version on our server is a bit old and we can’t update it easily without updating other parts of OS. So it might have some bugs. Do you get the same way if you pass audio explicitly like this:

process(l, r) = l, r;