First patch: Shimmer Reverb

Hi there,

I bought an used Owl pedal on ebay a few days ago, an so far I love it. Thanks for the awesome work on this. I’ve been able to get OwlControl and OwlProgram working on Ubuntu 16.04 without struggling too much and compile Faust code right away (I’m mainly a Faust developer).

Here is my first patch for : https://hoxtonowl.com/patch-library/patch/Owlgazer_Shimmer_Reverb

It’s a 4 delay lines FDN reverb with some allpass filters in series for diffusion. It’s based after an audio plugin I’m working on (Moongazer Shimmer Reverb (demo) - YouTube). I took the dsp part of it and tried to compile it as is on the Owl. It was taking WAY to much cpu and memory so I had to do some optimizations and remove a lot of small things (LFOs, filtering…), and I managed to get something working under 100% cpu. It still lacks at least one allpass filters and I would love to had some modulation on the delay lines, but everything I tried get me to at least to 130% cpu. I’ll try to do another version of it without the shimmer in order to get a better pure reverb.

Cheers!
Xavier

Just added a new one : https://hoxtonowl.com/patch-library/patch/Owlgazer_Dirty_Reverb
I removed the shimmer on this one, and I was able to make the diffusion slightly better in my opinion. And I had cpu room to add a distortion stage on the reverb tail, which give a nice chaotic sound.

Thanks for publishing this Xavier, that’s awesome! Just tried it out on the modular:

If you upload the .dsp file then the online compiler will take care of compiling it for you (though if you change files through the Patch Edit page you probably have to manually change compilation type too). That way you can edit, compile and test the FAUST code directly in the browser :smile:

For the factory patches we always put Mix (or Dry/Wet) on parameter D, and for reverbs we have Room size on A. You’re free to assign them any way you like, but it’s nice to be consistent! :wink: