OWL Pedal Build Error

Hi Everyone!

So I recently purchased the OWL pedal and followed the instructions from this repository: GitHub - pingdynasty/OwlWare: Firmware for the OWL programmable effects pedal.

When I run the make command I end up with this error and I am not sure what is going on. Maybe I am not doing something correctly or did not set up correctly. I am very new to this but and any help would be much appreciated!

(Ignore the red colour thats just how i set up my terminal :D)

I’m not sure why make is upset about the stdlib files you’ve got (maybe a path problem?..), but I don’t think you need to build the firmware to use the pedal

Is there any particular reason why you’re building this firmware? Would be interesting to hear if you’re planning to do something cool with it. Note that this legacy firmware that pretty much doesn’t get updated - so you won’t gain much by building it yourself unless you plan to add something to it.

The new firmware is in OpenWare repo. It supports multiple devices, not just Owl. But some features from Owl have not being added (specifically, patch switching from button press). But it also adds more features (you can overwrite any patch, not just last 4) and development is at least slowly moving forward.

Regarding your issue, I’ve noticed that I’ve been disabling this macro definition when I was trying to build it a long time ago:

diff --git a/Source/Owl.h b/Source/Owl.h
index 95cd3a9..81c4167 100644
--- a/Source/Owl.h
+++ b/Source/Owl.h
@@ -17,9 +17,9 @@
 #ifndef max
 #define max(a,b) ((a)>(b)?(a):(b))
 #endif /* max */
-#ifndef abs
-#define abs(x) ((x)>0?(x):-(x))
-#endif /* abs */
+//#ifndef abs
+//#define abs(x) ((x)>0?(x):-(x))
+//#endif /* abs */

void audioCallback(int16_t *src, int16_t *dst);
void setButton(uint8_t bid, uint16_t state);