Patches on the Witch?

I am considering purchasing one of these. Could somebody please let me know how many patches can be stored on the Witch at a single time - is it limited to 8?

In addition, can the Witch run any PureData or Max patch, or do those patches need to be reconfigured or adjusted somehow to run on the Witch? I ask because I am not a programmer, and the idea of having a standalone device onto which (no pun intended) I can simply load pre-existing PureData or Max patches without further programming effort is very appealing.

Thanks in advance!

How about 40 patches? But note that there’s second limit - 8Mbytes of storage shared by patches and resources (samples, etc). The patches themselves are fairly small (often end up less than 64k in size).

I would suggest to start by reading docs at https://www.openwarelab.org/ . You have to realize that you can run on such device is not identical desktop software . For PD you can only use objects supported by the Heavy compiler (there’s a lot of them but vanilla PD still has more). And we run code exported from gen~ rather than arbitrary Max patches.

Besides changes to patch contents that may have to be made, you’d have to assign some parameters to OWL inputs (or outputs). I guess that falls into adjustments category, however this is a rather trivial thing.

If that is clear, you can have a look at what’s possible in our current library - https://www.rebeltech.org/patch-library/patches/tags . Many of those patches were made for the old OWL pedal/module that has less SDRAM among other things and could be improved for current hardware.

This is excellent information, and very useful - thank you very much!!

I think I will give it a go. One additional question, though - does the device come with a manual? I searched high and low on the website for the information about patch storage, but couldn’t find any reference to the 40 you mention (or, for that matter, how to cycle through more than the original 8)?