Possibility of porting Tom Erbe's Pd convolution patch to Lich?

Hi everyone,

I have a Lich on its way to me right now, and one of the things I was hoping to be able to do with it was get this Pure data convolver running in my rack. I’m an absolute beginner with Pd though, and now that I’ve read a bit more about it and the Lich’s hardware, I’m thinking this patch would likely be too resource hungry for it to run properly.

The patch in question is here on Tom Erbe’s WordPress blog: partitioned convolution in vanilla pure data (.47 and up) | Tom Erbe

Can any of you Pd wizards tell if that would be possible to run on Lich? And, if not, can anyone point me towards any working patches or projects to create one, whether made with Pd or other languages? I’ve found a few mentions of attempts on the forum here, but it doesn’t look like there have been any updates for a few years.

I’m mostly interested in being able to run very short impulses of instrument bodies to use in physical modelling, so even just a few milliseconds of processing time would be sufficient here.

Thanks for any help or info!

1 Like

Not a PD Wizard here (maybe a bit of C++/FAUST Lich if not Genius), but I recall that the [clone] object is not supported. OWL and any microcontroller can’t run vanilla PD, but rather uses mostly compatible compiler called HEAVY that doesn’t need an OS to run. Generally, convolution requires effective FFT code and it can be expected only with C++ on OWL.

Also, convolution is generally not something that you would use for physmodelling with microcontrollers, it’s too expensive to compute. The easiest way to get started with it on OWL would be to learn FAUST that has a huge physicall modelling library.