[solved] Can't connect to Magus

Hello,
sorry for truly beginner question.
i just receive new Magus, and pre-loaded patches works just pefectly.
however, neither Device page or OpenWareLaboratory can’t connect to Magus. it only says an error “Failed to Connect to OWL”.
I use Windows10 and Chrome.
in device manager, Magus appears as “OWL-MIDI” on “universal serial device”
i’ve used OWL-modular as well, and connection with it is still no problem. in this case, OWL-MIDI appears in “sound, video or game controller”.
I tried to refresh cash on Chrome, and uninstall “OWL-MIDI” and plug again, but it doesn’t help the situation.
maybe because Magus doesn’t recorgnized as MIDI device on windows … ?
it would be great if you could help !!

sorry, I could solve the issue easily.
just change the driver from “OWL-MIDI” to “USB audio device”. it works just fine.
thank you for your support anyway !

1 Like

Hello and welcome back!

I’m not an expert in USB drivers on Windows, but I can explain how USB device names are used in OWL firmware:

1. OWL-MIDI - this was used on older versions of firmware. Driver was MIDI only.

2. OWL-BOOT - this is what bootloader uses, device is configured as MIDI only. I think you should only see it when you’re in bootloader mode for updating firmware

3. OWL-Magus (or replace Magus with device specific name for other hardware) - this is the composite USB device that includes MIDI and audio endpoints. This is used when recent versions of firmware are running.

It looks like Windows was using old device name. I think this could happen because you’ve used OWL with older firmware before. So when you’ve plugged another device that has the same USB vendor/device ID, it reused the same driver. And that would cause it to use wrong driver type (MIDI instead of composite audio + MIDI).

Btw, are you still using the old OWL pedal/module? We’ve just recently added remaining missing pieces to it (patch switching), so I can upload a firmware image for testing.