Updating the WaveTable Morphing Patch for Magus

Hi all,

I am the author of the Owl Morphing2D patch that we built with @mars two years ago. It is a morphing oscillator for complex “user made” wavetables. So you need an external wavetable editor as the one I suggested. The Owl patch worked as a 2D XY axis that interpolates between waves. The hidden part is an additional “third” dimension for the frequency sweeping to avoid aliasing. I’d like to make it a Magus patch and I’m asking for some help and recommendations.
First, you can have a look at the previous works :
Previous thread about wavetable oscillator
Owl modular patch

I just got my Magus working and updated recently so I am very new to it. I managed to build a quick patch using the screen and two different morphing osc. And right input is for FM.
Here’s the link : Github link to patchsource
I can upload it in the web patch library if someone wants to store it this way. However I think the player doesn’t support it.
I don’t have much modules now. Could someone tell me if v/oct left input works properly ?

Considering its numerous patch CV points, one interest could be to use Magus standalone even though that’s not my use. So I got different ideas that I can resume in three patches.

PATCH 1: Polyphonic 5 Morph Osc
As it is now with CPU, I can run up to 5 oscillators together. So it could be a MIDI driven patch that you can remotely play with a midi keyboard. Or a 5 notes chord transposed with v/oct input. I would use a single wavetable for every osc. I’d include envelopes as well as LFOs to get around the X and Y wavetables axis. FM in would be nice too.
I saw there is midi integrated in a few patches though I am not familiar to it. I guess there might be algorithm to sort out polyphony with midi notes…

PATCH 2: Dual Morph Osc
Back to monophony, I’d make a 2 osc patch again with integrated LFOs to trip around the XY. This one would use 2 different wavetables. v/oct input and why not MIDI too.