PD Granular/Sampler noise problem

Hi everyone !

So, I’m pretty new to PureData, and recently started to try making my own patches. I’m currently trying to make a simple Granular/Sampler kind a thing, with control of the playback speed (and reading direction), starting and ending point, and a grain size.
The patch itself work pretty great on my computer, but once I upload it on the Lich (via pd compiler), I got some kind of bitcrushing/aliasing noise going on. So far I tried lower the array size, bypass the grain size and start/end point parts, but got no luck.
I’m thinking maybe this is due to the compiler, or maybe some kind of refresh rate of the knobs ADCs ?
In any case, any hint would be more than welcome ! Here is the uploaded patch Granulatorix11 (I hope the link will work since it’s private for now, but I don’t mind publishing if needed).
Thank you very much !

Yes, direct links for patches always work, there’s no need to publish it until it’s running without issues.

ADC values always contain some amount of noise. Unlike a widget on computer, it’s not truly constant even if you’re not changing it. So using raw ADC parameters for settings something like delay line length or buffer position is a common pitfall. This can often be fixed by smoothing/filtering parameters that are sensitive to noise.

One obvious way to test for this is by replacing all ADC input parameters with constant values to see if the issue is gone and then return parameters one by one to find which is causing artifacts. Or you could change the parameter IDs to be outside of the ADC inputs and set them with a MIDI controller.

Hmm I see, so that’s indeed the culprit I had in mind…

I tried using line objects to generate a smoother transition between values, seems to kind of do the trick. I tried to implement the gen~ version on the last post of your link, but no luck so far. The funny thing is, it mainly happen with value received from the B Pot.